## Kingery repeats SPAL top runner

By STEVE BOLTZ

To no one's surprise, San Carlos High's junior phenom, Mitch Kingery, repeated as Runner of the Year on the All-South Peninsula Athletic League cross Kingery, Geiken, Emory country team.

The team was chosen by coaches Jim Luttrell of San Carlos and Plato Yanicks of Menlo-Atherton, with approval of the other league

coaches.

Kingery was unbeaten in 10 cross country races this year. He won the SPAL, Region II and Central Coast Section finals and set a course record at hilly, three-mile Crystal Springs in Belmont with a 14:28.

On the track, Kingery won the two-mile postal in 9:00.5, an SPAL record. He also set an SPAL mark with a 13:56.4 in the three-mile postal but was second to De La Salle's Rick Rimball (13:43.5).

Joining Kingery on the varsity first team were Gunn's Jerry Emory, Cubberley's Stacy Geiken, Carlmont's Ed Young, San Carlos's Mike Barnett. Woodside's Mark Llewellyn. Carlmont's John Shrover. Menlo-Atherton's Dave Hull, Carlmont's Brian Hurdal and Woodside's Damon Wood.

and Young were first-team picks last year. Kingery, Emory, Young, Hull and Hurdal are juniors.

Geiken was named outstanding senior, while Gunn's Dave Fogelsong was chosen as outstanding soph and Carlmont's Greg Mandanis outstanding freshman.

Basically, the selections followed the order of finish of the SPAL finals, not counting the important exceptions of Emory, Wood and Fogelsong.

Emory was third to Geiken and Kingery in the SPAL finals, but second in the CCS meet. Wood was ill and placed 20th in the SPAL finals, but made up for that in the region meet. Fogelsong was 16th in the SPAL finals in 16:33, six seconds faster than Woodside's Dan Farwell, winner of the soph race.

## ALL-SPAL TEAMS

ALL-SPAL TEAMS
Varsity
Honorable Mention: Tim Lease (Jr.),
Woodside; John Daley (Jr.), Carimont; Pat
O'Malley (Jr.), Carimont; Rich Wernick
(Sr.), Carimont; Phil Schaftner (Sr.), San
Carlos; Garv Gissendaner (Jr.), San Carlos;
Bob Arnold (Sr.), Menlo-Atherton.
SOPHOMORE
Dave Fagelsong, Gunn; Dan Farwell,
Woodside; Jain Neilland, Carimont; Rich
Shaffer, Gunn; Rich Walker, Carimont;
Marshall Magoon, M-A; Craig Uhrich, San
Carlos; Steve Honey, Woodside; Yorick
Lules, Woodside; Isais Ramirez, Woodside,
Honorable Mention; Jim Taylor, Carimont; Mike Hildreath, San Carlos; Ken
Reiser, Carlmont; Mike Ebaugh, M-A; Steve
Luzzi, Carlmont; Steve Shaw, San Carlos;
Marty Crayton, San Carlos;
FRESHMAN
Greg Mandanis, Carlmont; Joe Kemp,

Greg Mandanis, Cartmont; Joe Kemp,

Jordan: Dan Norris, Carlmont; Mark Suda, Carlmont: Leo Bodadillo, Carlmont: Tom Lucas, San Carlos; Mike Seadon, Carlmont; Forest Brakeman, Son Carlos; Kerl Campbell, Carlmont; Rob Falconer, Woodside, Honoroble Mention: John Lazar, Woodside; Greg Mitchell, Woodside; Pete Halberston, Son Carlos; Geaf Bogart, Woodside; Marc Ashton, Son Carlos; Geaf Bogart, Woodside; Chris Sakelorios, Sequola:
Runner of the Year: Mitch Kingery (Jr), San Carlos; Outstanding Senior: Stacy Gel-ken, Cubberley: Outstanding Sophamore: Dave Fogelsong, Gun; Outstanding Freshman: Greg Mondanis, Carlmont.